Misfit Toys

December 1, 2012 § Leave a comment


In the past month, I’ve re-read book passages that have spoken to me. Things that encourage me and lifted me up. In Victoria Forester’s THE GIRL WHO COULD FLY, Piper McCloud is a special little girl – she can fly. Her parents don’t entirely approve of her flying so when a woman offers to take her to a school that will “help her,” off she goes. What Piper realizes after being there a while is that this school only wants to BEAT THEM into normalcy. She gathers all the other gifted students and tries to talk them into escaping with her.

TheGirlWhoCouldFly

She dug deep and tried again. “My ma told me that there isn’t anything in this life worth having that comes easy. She told me that every road I walk down’s gonna have a price. But what she didn’t tell me and what I learned since I’ve been here is that if you don’t choose the road you’re gonna walk, sooner or later someone else’ll do that choosing for you. Now maybe Myrtle’s right and there’s nothing wrong with being normal like everyone else. But the truth is that we aren’t like everyone else. We’re like the way the good Lord made us and wouldn’t that be a terrible thing to turn our backs on? I can’t promise you that everything on this road is gonna be okay ’cause sure enough every road I’ve ever been on has got a bend or two and a few hills and valleys besides. I do know this, though — I know that I was meant to fly and I’m not gonna walk out of here. I’m going to fly. And I know what road I belong on ’cause I feel it here.” Piper pointed to her heart. “So you gotta choose your road right now. And you’ll know which one it is ’cause you’ll feel it here too.”

If you haven’t read this book, I seriously suggest you do. It is full of goodness. I bought it to read to my children, but kept it at my bedside table to read ahead. Seriously, do it. Peer pressure. 

Later on, Piper says this to another student, who can’t seem to accept her forgiveness.

“Think you’re the only fool who ever made a mistake?” Piper looked at Conrad as if he was crazy. “Phhhh! Talk about delusions of grandeur. One mistake isn’t nothing. Heck I’ve made more than that before I even get up in the morning. Can’t learn nothing worth knowing without makin’ a few mistakes first!”

Oh…I like Piper. In short, bring me your freaks and gifts, your loners and misfit toys. YOU PEOPLE WHO AREN’T PERFECT AND MAKE MISTAKES. We should ALL OF US work harder at loving those for who they are and where they’re at.

I didn’t always feel this way.

In short, be who you are, treat others the way you want to be treated. GIVE the kind of GRACE you want to receive.

And read this book.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Misfit Toys at Harley May.

meta

