Honey Badgers, Suzy Sunshine, and Winter Wonders

November 10, 2012 § 7 Comments


Hey!

The Winter Wonders Anthology is available for pre-order. That’s…crazy. It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the idea that I am in a book with other talented (READ: WAAAAAY BIGGER AND MORE ACCOMPLISHED THAN I AM) writers and you can order it off the internet with a mere CLICK OF THE CURSOR. You should click it. I did. It felt nice. Pre-order here.

I’ve had a few life changes in the past several weeks. My family is safe and healthy. We will be okay. I live by the school of thought that you put one foot in front of the other and you keep on going. Everything happens for a reason.

There’s certainly a time for grief and anger, but I don’t want to hang out there. Even in the worst of circumstances, there is always something to be thankful for. So I’m doing that a lot – listing things that are wonderful and lovely.

I want to find joy where I am, even while traveling through dark places. Some of you might think eternal optimism is annoying and a few of my friends have nicknamed me Suzy Sunshine. I’M PERFECTLY OKAY WITH THAT.  Would you like a hug? Here are a few of my joyful things:

1.) I do not have the nickname “Honey Badger.” (win)

2.) Battlestar Gallactica exists on Netflix. I can watch it whenever I want. So Say We All.

3.) My Husband Rocks. In every sense of the word. (wink)

4.) I have eyes that see, ears that hear, and legs that walk. Too often we take the very basic functions of life for granted.

5.) We own both of our family cars outright. They run. They get us from point A to point B. One even has an automatic door opening button thing. Fancy.

6.) My children do things that make me laugh every single day. I would like to think I make them happy too.

7.) The fall leaves are achingly beautiful right now. When I watch the way the setting sun filters through the gold, oranges, and reds, it is so breathtaking, so stunning, it makes me want to cry.

8.) There’s food in my pantry and refridgerator. Some of it tastes delicious and is really, really bad for me.

9.) I know how to read. It’s wonderful.

10.) My mind is fierce, my body is strong, and my heart is huge. This is not the end of me. There is something greater at work here. I don’t understand it right now, but it’s making me who I’m supposed to be. I’m still writing, still learning, still going. Watch.

What are you thankful for? I would love to hear.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Honey Badgers, Suzy Sunshine, and Winter Wonders

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Honey Badgers, Suzy Sunshine, and Winter Wonders at Harley May.

meta

