Tell Me When It’s Over

September 7, 2012 § 3 Comments


Tolerance runs both ways.
 
During the Republican National Convention, I saw hateful posts and tweets from Democrats on facebook and twitter.
 
During the Democratic Nation Convention, more hateful posts  and tweets from Republicans on facebook and twitter.
 
What has happened to respect? It does not exist in politics anymore.
 
Do your due diligence, check facts, check platforms, vote responsibly. If you don’t, you’re part of the problem.
 
You don’t need to spit on someone else and their beliefs to be American. We’re all free to speak our mind, but let’s do it with a level head and LOVE. Walk away when you get angry. Not saying that I’m perfect or that I don’t get angry and take it out on the someone in a hurtful way.  I am guilty of that MANY times over. So I know from experience how hard it is to bite your tongue and cool down. I fail at it all the time. 
 
It’s good that people are so passionate about the future of America, but I cannot support hate in any form.
 
Okay? Okay. 
 
Politics would be cooler be if they all fought with Nerf swords and then hugged it out afterward.
 
BESOS!
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Tell Me When It’s Over

  • Anna Lefler says:

    OMGee! I could not agree more!!! It seems that if you have an opinion on something, manners go right out the window. Was it always like this?

    Argh.

    XOXO

    A.

  • I agree. I don’t have a problem with people who have different viewpoints than me–the problem comes when they’re rude in trying to convince me that their thinking is better than mine. Or when they’re uninformed and argumentative. As long as you know why you’re voting the way you do, and are aware of the potential drawbacks of that candidate or party, that’s great, because it means you’re informed in your choice, which is all anyone can ask for.

  • Thank you for this. I am very neutral when it comes to stuff like this. Sure, I believe in what I believe, but who am I to spew hate and tell you you’re wrong? No. I’m not that person. I will listen to you kindly and we can have an educated discussion but I can’t stand the mudslinging and annoying FB posts. Thank you for saying this. I am just generally apathetic and want to stay out of any political discussions. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tell Me When It’s Over at Harley May.

meta

