In Which I Bomb

April 24, 2012 § 8 Comments


I did standup again and friends, it wasn’t pretty. It stunk. Bottom line – I just didn’t prepare enough. Got through my first little joke just fine, then I fumbled over a few words, and couldn’t remember what came next right away. Doing that in front of a full room scared me and knocked me back. I stood there a good ten seconds. What comes next? Should I walk off stage before I start crying? Don’t throw up. This is very unprofessional.

I finally started back up, but didn’t recover my former confidence and delivered a scared performance. I am a funny person and am confident in that. I’m just not a great performer. Not yet. I cannot end on this note and will absolutely do it again to redeem myself. Fear and failure won’t make me quit.

In hindsight, I don’t have the head space to do one gig a month. While I did my first one a month ago, I thought about the material for the better part of three months, letting the jokes roll around and cultivate in my mind. I knew them intimately. This month felt so rushed. My mind is constantly occupied with the needs to do, wants to do, and things that are somewhere in between. Juggling all this makes day-to-day life hazardous and my family thinks I’m crazy.

I did have an awesome time getting to know some of the comics better backstage.

The comic pictured below actually played a character. It was the coolest thing to hear him speak and walk in character. He would later pull his fake teeth out, take off his glasses, and speak like a normal person. He was super nice. I’ve tried to find his real name on facebook, but his stage name was “Uuh Hell.” Were this photo in focus, you all would likely fall over and die laughing. So really, the fuzziness has saved your life. Thank you shakey photo taker.

Donald Garner got a little crazy with a few things in the prop closet.

 

Top prize went to Corey Howard who will move on to compete for a performance in the Comedy Club’s “big room.” Another comic Keith Fuquay won second, putting him in some kind of Wild Card position. I’m not entirely sure how you win and think some kind of blood sacrifice is involved.

Some memorable quotes from backstage:

Overheard from one comic to another: “The state forgot to send my mental check this month…”

And finally, probably the sweetest compliment anyone has ever paid me. “I like you. You’re not fancy like all those other girls.”

Tagged: ,

§ 8 Responses to In Which I Bomb

  • thedrunch says:

    You are the best. I know this. It’s one of the few certainties in my life. This doesn’t mean you should feel pressure to maintain some incredibly impressive facade. Just know that whatever you do…I’ll be somewhere thinking, “I approve.” XOXO!

  • Donald Garner says:

    Dont forget my advice, just randomly say “walrus penis”.

  • Anna Lefler says:

    Hey, Lady,

    Well, it happens sometimes. What can I say? I’m sure it wasn’t as bad as you think it was, but in a way that doesn’t help, does it?

    A question, though: you weren’t doing new material already were you? Don’t feel pressured to put in a bunch of new stuff! Most comics I know will polish the same set and work it for a loooong time, then gently work in a new bit or two as they write them.

    I’m just putting that out there in case you really went for it with a bunch of new stuff this time around. That’s a lot to bite off!

    Anyway, your stud credentials are intact – fear not.

    Hugs to you!

    XOXO

    Anna

  • megtuite says:

    I’m in awe!! I wouldn’t have the guts to do it!! Getting up there, working it and staying with it is HUGE!! I ADORE HARLEY!!

  • You’re brave. And you’re funny. I’m proud of you.

  • Keep at it. You’ll get better. And if you don’t – who cares? You are trying and that’s kind of a big deal.

  • Kiersten Marek says:

    Reblogged this on Kmareka.com and commented:
    A great post on what stand-up comedy is all about (and it’s funny, too!)

  • Harley May says:

    You all rock! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Which I Bomb at Harley May.

meta

