COMICS ARE FUNNY

March 29, 2012 § 8 Comments


A while back, I told all of you here on the blog that I wanted to do standup comedy for my Year of Scary Living.

Well, I did it.

There’s a longer write-up of the experience at An Army of Ermas, but because of their word count limit, I didn’t get to talk about all the cool comedians I met. It was worth the experience just to hang out with them.

When my husband and I got to the comedy club, there was only one other open mic guy there – Dave (not Dane) Cook. This was Dave’s third time doing standup and he won first prize his very first time doing it. He greeted us from a bar table and gestured to a sheet of paper. There were thirteen lines for people to write their names in and he’d scribbled “Dave Cook” into slot number 12.

“So I just write my name in?” I asked.

Dave offered me a shot glass with tiny slips of paper inside. “You draw your number and that’s the order you go in.”

I drew “2”

While I wrote my name on the second line Dave asked, “So it’s your first time?”

I nodded. “Yes.”

“Did they explain all the rules?”

I shook my head. “I know I’m on for 5-7 minutes. So…no.”

Dave, I’m sure, was already dazzled by my comedic nodding and head shaking.

“They want the open mic people relatively clean. No major cussing – no f bombs, racial slurs, etc. Some sex talk is okay, just not too graphic. They like innuendoes.”

Dave was super nice and told us one of his friends wouldn’t be coming and that my husband could have their ticket at his table with Dave’s wife, family, friends. WE LIKED DAVE COOK.

The other open mic folks started filing in so my husband found his seat in the room. One woman (it was also her first time) sat down saying, “Lord, these shoes were a bad idea. I’ll know when my five minutes are over by the time my big toe starts bleeding.” She then drank exactly eight glasses of ice water.

Another first timer I enjoyed meeting was a poet named BStuc. He told me he wrote and performed poetry on a regular basis and he got a lot of laughs that way. He has a website and is on twitter as @bstucthapoet. He actually won second place! Pretty fancy for his first time.

I wish I’d taken more photos, but my husband took the camera into the venue with him. When show time came around, they ushered us into the tiniest hallway thirteen people could squeeze into. There were a lot of comics with many years of experience and listening to them talk and joke around really put me at ease.The woman with a shoe timer, her cell phone rang and she said, “You all have to hush. This is my husband and he thinks I’m at Walmart.”

It was insanely fun. I’m so glad I did it and signed up for another one next month. My husband took video and everyone is asking me to post it, but I’m not totally comfortable with it. Not yet. Know that I’m watching the video, taking notes on how to improve, and hope to bring you a svelte and polished comedy routine for your Youtubing pleasure.

If you’d like to read the Ermas post, it is here.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to COMICS ARE FUNNY

  • lindagrimes says:

    I am in awe of your fierceness. And I sooooo want to see your set on YouTube next time. 🙂

  • authorkarenhooper says:

    This. Is. Awesome.

    Oh, how I wish I could have been there to laugh at you. (And I mean that in the nicest most supportive way.)

    Miss you!

  • I’m so glad I know you.

  • Anna Lefler says:

    Woot-woot! I’m so happy for you! Isn’t it an amazing experience?

    I knew you’d kill.

    Can’t wait to see video when you’re ready to share…

    Congrats!!

    XOXO

    Anna

  • Matt says:

    Wow. Way to go! I worked in a comedy club in college. I thought about doing our open mic a few times. One day a guy I went to high school with and sorta new came in for the open mic. I watched as he bombed hard. It was tough to watch. After seeing that, I never again considered stepping up. So congratulations on having the guts to give it a try and still go back for more!

  • jstayrook says:

    “The woman with a shoe timer, her cell phone rang and she said, ‘You all have to hush. This is my husband and he thinks I’m at Walmart.'”

    Did she do this on stage?? Because coffee came out of my nose just reading it. And that’s not because that’s the line I use with Hubs when I’m out on the town. >.>

    Also, you’re amazeBALLS. Or…you’ve changed it lately. AmazeKITTENS. Heart you so hard. Proud of you!

  • So brave of you Harley! Very admirable. And very understandable on your decision not to post until you’re all comfy with it. It will make the wait even better. Congrats on a big and ah-mazing step.

  • Harley May says:

    You are all wonderful. Thank you for the encouragement and you all deserve snacks.

    Jen, she was not onstage when she did that. We were all in the hallway of tinyness when that happened. Funny, right?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading COMICS ARE FUNNY at Harley May.

meta

