Back in the Ballerina Saddle and Other Stories

January 4, 2012 § 3 Comments


Because ballerinas totally use saddles (no they don’t).

Went back to work today after a GREAT Christmas holiday. For those of you who don’t know, I work for a ballet company. I love it. I didn’t anticipate how excited the girls would be today. When the first group arrived (they were all mostly four or five) it went like this: 

Ballerina 1: You look so different.

Ballerina 2: And tired.

Ballerina 3: Why do you look so different?

Me: Is it my hair? I got bangs. (I totally did)

Ballerina 1: No. That isn’t it.

Me: I have on lipstick?

Ballerina 1: No. You just look so different.

Ballerina 2: And tired.

Ballerina 3: Why do you have on your same old shoes? Didn’t you get new shoes for Christmas?

Me: No.

Ballerina 4: I got a dog toy for Christmas.

Me: Very cool. Does it bark?

Ballerina 4: No, it’s a toy for a dog. And I don’t have a dog. It squeaks and it’s awesome.

Me: ….

Ballerina 3: WHY DO YOU LOOK SO DIFFERENT?

Ballerina 2: And tired.

Me: *sobs*

I didn’t really sob. YOU DID. And Ballerina 2 is a knot tyer from the fourth level of hell. She’d make the most accomplished Eagle Scout weep.

All of the children around me have been extra funny lately. It must be all the sugar. While our family played at a park this holiday season, another mother was struggling with her child, throwing a horrible tantrum. I don’t say this to tsk tsk because WE’VE ALL been there.

My six-year-old went up to her and said, “It is *so* hard,” and nodded her head in sympathy.

Then I was with my niece, who is two, and she asked me to put a little watch on her. She was so proud of it, walking around like a woman in a new pair of hot high heels. Only she didn’t appear to be in pain or suppressing any form of buyer’s remorse.

Me: What time does your new watch say?

Her: 30:Kitten

§ 3 Responses to Back in the Ballerina Saddle and Other Stories

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back in the Ballerina Saddle and Other Stories at Harley May.

meta

