Oh, this speaks to my heart.

July 26, 2010 § 5 Comments


Thanks to Stacey Graham for sharing this link with me.

You have no idea how much I love the concept of a Jane Austen and Fight Club love child. Of course, I’d post a link about a Jane Austen Fight Club right after I blog about why I don’t resort to violence.

In other news, SlushPile Hell held a twitter contest for Bad Kiddy Books titles. On the results post, Mr. Hell stated there were around 1200 entries and somehow one of my Kiddy titles made the top 25. They are all hilarious (I have no idea how mine slipped in). Go read them if you want a laugh.

Maybe it is not that big of a deal, but I’m excited about it. After I read my name listed as one of the top 25, I let out a little squee-yelp. A yee? a squelp? Let’s go with a squelp. I brought the laptop to my husband.

“Look. I entered this contest and made the top 25!”

He glanced over from his video game. “Cool. Did you win anything?”

“No. But it says there were 1200 entries and this is more proof that I’m mildly funny.”

“Great. So when people ask me what my wife does, I’ll tell them, ‘She’s a writer.’ When they ask me where I can read your work, I’ll tell them ‘Slush Pile Hell’ and direct them to that one line.  I should really print the page out and carry it around in my wallet.”

I glared at him.  He works from home now. He doesn’t bathe as often and hasn’t shaved in weeks. He’s turning into ME is what it is. 

“Let’s get something straight,” I told him. “I’m the extraverted hilarious one in this marriage. You give the dry one-liners.” 

He smiled. “Got it. No more encroaching on your territory.”

I caught him look at the list a few times that evening. He laughed and that made me happy.

§ 5 Responses to Oh, this speaks to my heart.

  • I like this better than the Jane Austen zombie trailers.

    I saw you on Slushpile Hell. It is an honor. That blog cracks me up.

  • Simon L. says:

    The Jane Austen Fight Club is utterly FTW. That is all.

    Oh, not all, per se. Congrats on your Slushpile Hell win!

    NOW that is all.

  • Matt says:

    Oh, snarky husbands. Will we ever learn our place?

    Congrats on the SlushPile Hell! That’s excellent!

  • stacey says:

    You’re the Emma to my Lizzie!

    Congratulations on the SPH placement, see I tooooooooold you were funny. No. Wait. I told you not to wear your underwear as a festive hat. Never mind.

  • Harley May says:

    Medeia, I drink in any play on Jane Austen.

    Thank you, Simon!

    Matt, you tell all those snarky husbands what’s up, alright? I’m counting on you. Wait, is that snark I hear?! YOU’RE FIRED.

    Stace, stop insulting my hats. *adjusts boxer briefs to a perfect jaunty position*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh, this speaks to my heart. at Harley May.

meta

