Big News for Mercedes

June 21, 2010 § 6 Comments


           

I’ve been waiting for this day for a long time. A couple of months ago, I blogged about my dear friend, Mercedes M. Yardley, and a short story of hers due to come out this October in a big-deal anthology. She based one of the characters in the short story on little old me and named her Harley. I am thrilled for Mercedes and she told me I am finally allowed to announce the table of contents and other authors involved in the project. Take a pretty gander at the authors she is honored with being listed with.

THE COMPANY OF WOLVES – Angela Carter
THE OTHER SIDE – Count Stenbock
THE LADY ON THE GREY – John Collier
GABRIEL-ERNEST — Saki
THE SHADOW OVER INNSMOUTH – H.P. Lovecraft
GRANDFATHER WOLF – Steve Rasnic Tem
FIRE DOG – Joe R. Lansdale
PURE SILVER – A.C. Crispin and Kathleen O’Malley
GIFT-WRAP – Charlaine Harris
SIDE-EFFECTS MAY INCLUDE – Steve Duffy
UNLESS YOU CHANGE – Francesca Lia Block
FORGIVEN – Eric Shapiro
THE COLD THAT FLAYS THE SKIN – Tessa Gratton
IL DONNAIOLO – Brad C. Hodson
WEREWOLF 101 – Mercedes M. Yardley
MANDIBLE – Alice Henderson
FAR AND WEE – Kathe Koja
BRAIDS – Melanie Tem
NOT FROM AROUND HERE – David J. Schow
THE SKIN TRADE – George R.R. Martin
THE ANIMAL ASPECT OF HER MOVEMENT – Adam Golaski
STRANGE SKIN – Bentley Little
BREAK-UP – Richard Christian Matheson
THE BETTER HALF: A LOVE STORY – Scott Bradley and Peter Giglio
PLASTIC FANTASTIC – Dieter Meyer and Maxwell Hart
WARM, IN YOUR COAT – Violet Glaze
ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW I LEARNED IN PIGGY CLASS – Nicole Cushing
HOWL OF THE SHEEP – Cody Goodfellow
PIECES OF ETHAN – Adam-Troy Castro
I COVET ALL THE WANING HOURS – Zak Jarvis
WHEN SUSSURUS STIRS – Jeremy Robert Johnson
WAR PIG – Carlton Mellick III
DISSERTATION – Chuck Palahniuk
ONLY THE END OF THE WORLD AGAIN – Neil Gaiman
SWEETHEART COME – Alethea Kontis

 

Say it with me: Chuck Palahniuk. Neil Gaiman. Mercedes M. Yardley. Isn’t this wild? I can’t believe I know Mercedes and I even get to meet her in October. My giddiness cannot be contained. Please mark your calendars and invest in this burning hunk of Werewolf/Shape shifting love this October. I plan on having a Mercedes Week here on ye olde blog. This isn’t simply because the short story has a character based on me. No, no. It really is a great story and look at all you’ll be getting along with it!

There will be other author weeks in the future as I’ve been blessed to read many beautiful and hilarious forthcoming projects before their publication date. I won an ARC of Sean Ferrell’s first book Numb (you can pre-order here)and it is fabulous. It will be published August 3rd and I hope to have a Numb Week.

Another project I’m excited about coming out is Stacey Graham’s  zombie anthology Hungry For Your Love also due out in October (that will be a busy month) and it is hilarious. Please check her out if you have not already. She runs the show at the Army of Ermas I contribute for and we are hosting a summer contest for open Erma spots. Men and women are welcome to apply, so please head over there if you’re interested.

After I read Mercedes’ short story, I ran to the living room to tell my husband. “Guess what? I character based on me will be immortalized in an antho. I get called a trollop. Isn’t that great?”

He paused his video game (this means serious stuff in gamer speak) and looked at me. “Yup, you’ve made it.”

So, loyal blog readers, remember these things. Mercedes. Werewolf 101. Sean Ferrell. Numb. Stacey Graham. Hungry For Your Love. See you all then.

§ 6 Responses to Big News for Mercedes

  • Simon says:

    HAHAHAHAAA!!! You’ve been immortalized as a trollop? Awesome!

    Mercedes rocks, and I totally can’t wait to get that anthology. Now I have to beat her in the #NovelChallenge a couple more weeks so she writes me into something too.

    What d’you think she’ll call me?

    P.S. You rock. You totally deserve trollop immortalization.

  • Mercedes says:

    You’re a hot trollop with great shoes! Immortalized with class, my friend!

    And Simon? Dream on. I told you that you’re never winning again.

  • Yeah, this is awesome, Harley!

  • harleymay says:

    Thanks, Simon. My parents are so proud! And consider yourself lucky I get to meet her before you do. You get to live another day.

    Mercedes, you deserve the wildest success imaginable! Yay for October.

    Thank you, Beth! It is awesome. Please check Mercedes out.

  • You have TOTALLY made it! Hehe… Congratulations to you both!

  • That is such amazing news!! How exciting for Mercedes. And you get called Trollop!!!!! In print!!!!!!

    Wait.

    Hm.

    Yes, yes, it’s super good news.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Big News for Mercedes at Harley May.

meta

