A Good Setting

April 29, 2010 § 11 Comments


I love how a setting can influence the tone a story. I am fortunate to have traveled a great deal and seen a lot of the world. Wherever I went and whatever baggage I brought, my mood seemed to change when I get off the airplane and my feet touch the ground. The environment, weather, and people around me flavored how I tasted this new world.

Recently, I submitted a short story. The setting was so present in my thoughts that when I went down a road I’d never been on before and literally drove by the scene, I had to turn around and take a picture. Isn’t that beautiful? It was set in the evening and more mysterious, but you get the general idea. 

I know my posts have been short and practically non-existent lately, but I’ll soon be finished with my second round of edits for the local SCBWI workshop in June. Those pages have to be sent off on May 3rd. Watch out May 4th, I’LL BLOG YOUR FACE OFF.

Have you ever been to a new place and felt different? Have you ever blogged anyone’s face off? This is a sharing blog, a safe place, go to your happy spot. Your happy spot would be an interesting setting…

§ 11 Responses to A Good Setting

  • Erin says:

    That IS beautiful! I also get inspired by settings sometimes. (I have an obsession with abandoned houses and my mind goes whirling when I see one!)

  • That is beautiful. I set one of my stories in a location based on land surrounding a stretch of road here and every time I drive through I do a double-take. It’s like going to a different world in an instant.

  • Sean says:

    Please don’t blog my face off. My face can’t take it.

  • Simon says:

    Every time I travel for work I feel a little different being in a new place. It’s rather fun, actually, people watching in new locations. That way I can stare and they can get offended but it’s fine, ’cause I’m leaving in a couple days anyway and they’ll never see me again so they can just deal.

    I may have blogged my own face off once. The family didn’t like it.

  • L.T. Host says:

    That is gorgeous. So jealous you live somewhere where places like this exist! I love old roads bathed in leaves that lead into a twisted forest.

    I may or may not have blogged someone’s face off. I will never tell.

  • Tried to comment a moment ago, and cyber monkeys ate my comment! Let’s try this again …

    This place is beautiful and peaceful and … Hey. This looks a WHOLE lot like my happy spot. How’d you guess?!

    I envy you your world travels. The place that I would have to say I felt the most different was when I traveled to China. I got lost (not unusual) in the airport in Hong Kong, trying to make the connecting flight to Changsha (very unusual, at least for me.)

    There was not a single English sign in that portion of the airport, and if I had not been rescued by a Chinese couple, I would have been lost forever.

  • Bumby Scott says:

    I was going to say that my happy spot was high atop a sycamore tree in the the swamps…. then I remembered the chiggers.
    So, I would have to say my favorite place to think about blogging is at a prayer garden at one of the local hospitals, It’s quite and thereis a bobbling brook to watch and to listen to.

    Always Bumby

  • So… it’s May 4…

  • I love to explore different areas, but I know I have more places to travel. I’d get more ideas for settings if I did.

  • Wendy says:

    It’s important for me to see a place before I write about it. I need to know the smells and the feel of being there.

    When I first started blogging I think I blogged a few faces off. I posted five times a week as opposed to my now three times.
    ~ Wendy

  • MeganRebekah says:

    Finally! Someone else who’s going to the SCBWI Florida Conference. No one I know is going, and I was starting to think it was going to be creepy old people who’ve never heard of computers, let along blogs.
    What tracks or intensives are you taking?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Good Setting at Harley May.

meta

